Badgers picked to win the West in Big Ten preseason football poll

The Badgers are the unanimous favorites to repeat as Big Ten West Division champions again this season, according to the preseason football poll conducted by The media poll favors Ohio State winning the Big Ten title this season with 14 votes. Although, Wisconsin did get 13 votes to win the conference.

Several prominent Badgers veterans earned votes in the Player of the Year polls. Sophomore running back Jonathan Taylor came in second in the Offensive Player of the Year voting behind Penn State quarterback Trace McSorley. Badgers linebacker TJ Edwards was third in the Defensive Player of the Year voting. Ohio State defensive end Nick Bosa was the top pick.

Here’s the preseason polls:

Big Ten West Division

1. Wisconsin (28 first-place votes)

2. Iowa

3. Northwestern

4. Nebraska

5. Purdue

6. Minnesota

7. Illinois

Big Ten East Division

1. Ohio State (23.5 first-place votes)

2. Michigan State (2 first-place votes)

3. Penn State (1 first-place vote)

4. Michigan (1.5 first-place votes)

5. Maryland

6. Indiana

7. Rutgers

Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

1. Trace McSorley – Penn State QB (14 first-place votes)

2. Jonathan Taylor – Wisconsin RB (11 first-place votes)

3. JK Dobbins – Ohio State RB (2 first-place votes)

4. Brian Lewerke – Michigan State QB (1 first-place vote)

5. Dwayne Hoskins – Ohio State QB 

6. Noah Fant – Iowa TE

7. Shea Patterson – Michigan QB

Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

1. Nick Bosa – Ohio State DE (20 first-place votes)

2. Rashan Gary – Michigan DE (6 first-place votes)

3. TJ Edwards – Wisconsin LB 

4. Devin Bush – Michigan LB (1 first-place vote)

5. Paddy Fisher – Northwestern LB

6. Joe Bachie – Michigan State LB

7. Chase Winovich – Michigan DE

8. D’Cota Dixon – Wisconsin S

8. Olive Sagapolu – Wisconsin DT

8. Khaleke Hudson – Michigan LB



More News


Eagle River
Stevens Point
Wisconsin Rapids
Quiet and mild weather to continue for the next week

Quiet and mild weather to continue for the next week

Mild and quiet weather to continue for much of the next week. The pesky fog and low clouds we’ve been

Click for forecast details
Connect With Us
Top Stories

Controversial $580M power line put into service in Wisconsin

A controversial high-voltage power line across western Wisconsin has been put into service after almost three years of construction.

As sentencing looms, Flynn is upbeat, has adoring fans

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — Former national security adviser Michael Flynn is relaxed and hopeful even as the possibility of prison

Stevens Point cracking down on teen vaping

Concerns over teenagers using e-cigarette products continues to grow. Stevens Point is now going one step farther to make

Ice safety concerns following incident in Wausau

WAUSAU (WAOW)– Officials responded to a call that a kid had fallen through ice on the Wisconsin River Thursday night.

Merrill company helping victims of California wildfires

MERRILL (WAOW)- California is still reeling from those devastating wildfires, but now a central Wisconsin company is helping those impacted.

Scroll to top
Skip to content