Wisconsin Senate confirms 5 of Evers Cabinet secretaries

MADISON, Wis. (AP) — The Wisconsin Senate has voted unanimously to confirm five members of Democratic Gov. Tony Evers’ Cabinet, nearly a year into his administration.

All of Evers’ agency secretary have been serving pending the confirmation votes. The other 11 in Evers’ Cabinet who have yet to be confirmed can remain in the job unless the Senate votes to deny confirmation.

The battle over Evers’ Cabinet secretaries has largely played out behind the scenes, with his appointees meeting privately with Republicans who control the Senate to secure enough support for confirmation.

Those the Senate approved on Tuesday were Revenue Secretary Peter Barca, Financial Institutions Secretary Kathy Blumenfeld, Administration Secretary Joel Brennan, Corrections Secretary Kevin Carr and Veterans Affairs Secretary Mary Kolar.

Associated Press

Associated Press

More News


Regional Radar
Connect with WAOW
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content