Portage County to vote on wheel tax

PORTAGE COUNTY, Wis. (WAOW)– Portage County leaders are planning on implementing a wheel tax for drivers across the county. The wheel tax will be a $25 fee paid every year when residents register their vehicles, until 2024.

The Highway Commissioner, Nathan Check, said the county has been borrowing money for road maintenance. “We have looked at a number of different options, and currently borrowing just isn’t a sustainable option for us if it’s something we’re going to need on an every year basis.”

There are already 27 different municipalities and counties in Wisconsin with a wheel tax.

The County board will vote on the tax on Nov. 20.

Sarah McGrew

Sarah McGrew

More News


Connect with WAOW
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content