Skip to Content

House votes to impeach President Donald Trump

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

(WAOW) — Majority in the US House of Representatives votes to impeach President Donald Trump for the second time in 13 months.

With it, he becomes the first president to be impeached twice. He is expected to respond to the vote through a taped video later on Wednesday.

The final House vote was at 232-197.

Lawmakers voted for his impeachment Trump on a single charge: incitement of insurrection.

The impeachment proceedings came one week after a violent, pro-Trump mob breached the Capitol, sending lawmakers into hiding and revealing the fragility of the nation's history of peaceful transfers of power. Five people died.

While Trump's first impeachment in 2019 brought no Republican votes in the House, at least 10 House Republicans flipped this time around. They include:

  • Rep. Liz Cheney (WY)
  • Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA)
  • Rep. John Katko (NY)
  • Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL)
  • Rep. Fred Upton (MI)
  • Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA)
  • Rep. Peter Meijer (MI)
  • Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (OH)
  • Rep. Tom Rice (SC)
  • Rep. David Valadao (CA)

Trump has taken no responsibility for the riot, suggesting it was the drive to oust him rather than his actions around the riot that was dividing the country.

The charges now move on to the U.S. Senate for a trial. If Trump is convicted before Jan. 20, he will be removed from office. In any case, conviction will prevent him from running for president again.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell says he won’t call Senate back for Trump impeachment trial, making it unlikely that Trump will be removed from office.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.


Author Profile Photo


Skip to content